Ben Edwards
-

Ben Edwards

Project Manager

Time in role:

6 Years

Qualification/s:

BSc Construction Management

NVQ Level 4 in Management

NVQ Level 4 Site Sustainability Management

Overview:

I joined Pochins shortly after finishing university in 2004 and since then have progressed from Assistant Site Manager to my current position as Project Manager.

Over this period I have led an assortment of projects in numerous sectors including Petro-Chem, Large Industrial, Residential, Healthcare, Commercial Office & Leisure/Retail.

Being a Project Manager involves working with both internal and external parties which often requires a great deal of patience and the ability to listen, especially when resolving disputes and issues.  It’s important to be efficient and responsive as time is often in short supply.

I like to think that I have a high level of technical expertise which enables me to be a good problem solver and decision maker. I have now completed three BIM projects and numerous BREEAM projects. I have good people skills and the ability to build strong relationships both on the client side and also within a site team.

Away from the day-to-day life on site, I am a member of the Pochin’s Communications Group. This is an elected group of individuals who meet on a monthly basis and are tasked with obtaining employee feedback and passing it on to the appropriate persons.  I have been a member of this group for several years and I represent the Project Managers and Site Managers.

What made you want to join the construction industry?

As a teenager I undertook a work placement at a local architects practice in my home town of Oswestry. During this period, as well as doing some more mundane office work, I also went to various sites for meetings and surveys. I recall being totally unaware of the variety of professional roles and opportunities within the construction industry.

Where do you think we will see you in five years’ time?

In 5 years I’m aiming to be a Contracts Manager overseeing several teams.

Describe work in 3 words: Interesting, fulfilling, proud

Likes: Football, snowboarding & snooker

Favourite food: A take away curry on a Friday night.

Can’t live without: My family!

Greatest achievement: In my younger days I was a successful horseman riding for the Queen and becoming a World and two time British Champion. These days my achievements really revolve around my children.

Life rule: Hard work is a two way street. You get back exactly what you put in.

Favourite Holiday Destination; Any ski resort!

Back to Careers profiles